The PA Borough Code was revised and became effective June 17, 2014.  It defines the abilities, responsibilities and limits for the rule of a Borough.  A Borough Council Handbook is available from DCED in both digital (free) and print ($) versions.

Borough Council is primarily  a legislative role. Members may also act in an administrative, executive or supervisory role to a lesser extent.  The methods for taking official action are specified in the Borough Code and other state laws. Although official binding actions may be taken on the basis of an ordinance, a resolution or a motion, the Code requires all legislative acts to be taken by ordinance or resolution.

Council meets once a month, at times it has met twice a month. In the past, the first meeting was an official meeting to conduct business. The second meeting was usually a work session.  In the recent past, all meetings were advertised as official meetings.  All meetings must be advertised to obey the Sunshine Law.

Elected Officials

If you wish to contact a council member(s), please email The communication will be forwarded to the appropriate member(s).  

Personal email and telephone information will not be provided.

Daniel Berard

Borough Council President
Paul J. Ruane

Borough Council Vice President
Denise Guilbault

Council Members
Timothy Botts
Winston Ortiz
 Elijah John Scretching
Chuck Stroup
Frank Wetzel

Tax Collector
Joanna Rees

Council and Committee Meetings

Borough Council

Borough Council meetings are held the first Tuesday of the month at 6:30pm, in the Second Street Community Center Savidge Room

2nd Monday of the Month at 6:30 p.m. 

Council Representatives: Kaitlyn Simmons (Chair), Denise Guilbault, Winston Ortiz
Oversees all Borough property and recreation throughout the Borough. 

4th Tuesday of the Month at 6:30 p.m.
Council Representatives: Timothy Botts (Chair), Denise Guilbault, Frank Wetzel
Oversees the Borough administration, finance, legal services, and tax collection.

Council Representatives: Winston Ortiz (Chair), Paul Ruane, Chuck Stroup
Manages the Borough employees, the commission and board appointments, contracts and contract negotiations, and disciplinary issues.

3rd Tuesday of the Month at 6:00 p.m.
Council Representatives:
Frank Wetzel (Chair), Timothy Botts, Kaitlyn Simmons
Addresses safety issues throughout the Borough and works with the Police, EMA, Emergency Services Board and Fire Department. 

3rd Monday of the Month at 6:30 p.m.
Council Representatives:
Denise Guilbault (Chair), Timothy Botts, Winston Ortiz
Reviews existing and pending Borough laws and makes recommendations to the full council for new ordinances, resolutions, and policies, as well as amendments to the current laws. 

2nd Tuesday of the Month at 6:30 p.m.
Council Representatives:
Paul Ruane (Chair), Chuck Stroup, Kaitlyn Simmons 
Oversees the Borough’s infrastructure, road and storm sewer maintenance, snow removal, street cleaning/maintenance, Borough maintenance facilities, and vehicle & equipment maintenance. 

1st Tuesday of the Month at 5:30 p.m.
Council Representatives:
Chuck Stroup (Chair), Paul Ruane, Frank Wetzel
Oversees the Borough’s sewer plant facilities, collection system, vehicle & equipment maintenance, and customer agreements.